Short time at The Edge

Alright! I’ve been taking notes about what’s been going on the past weeks so to not forget what happened and eliminate all my excuses for not writing.

To start off, my contract with The Edge ended on the 8th of April. It was definitely a hard good-bye because although I was only a part-time data entry clerk, I had a lot of fun and I met wonderful people at The Edge. Thank you everyone who I had the pleasure of knowing, especially Sook Fun, Xindi and Janene for the two months, I really am grateful that all of you made my first ever job memorable and pleasant.

11064230_10204207972467988_1102715193_o-1024x768

First day with The Edge and Astro paid a visit for Chinese New Year! From left to right: Xindi, Sook Fun, Nicholas, Janene, Daljit, Simran and me. In front we have Xixi, Astro’s goat mascot!

luixia-theedge-05

Pink lions

Before I started working with The Edge, I was pretty excited yet nervous. I was excited because I was finally going to earn money and do something useful with my time. I was nervous because I’ve heard horror stories about how people are going to be mean and unsociable in the office. But throughout my two months, needless to say that it wasn’t a horrible nor a totally boring time with them. I learnt a few new things and met amazingly kind people.

I started off as a photographer for them and ended up as their data entry clerk. I took photographs for them of buildings and properties around Selangor and Kuala Lumpur. It was quite an experience because I had to travel around parts of Selangor and Kuala Lumpur that I have never frequent to. Now that I am slightly familiar with that place, my parents ask me about the area and I tell them bits and pieces of what I know.

After my third week with them, I was assigned to do data entry instead. It started off a bit boring but sometimes I got to learn things about Excel that I had never learn before. Since I was placed in the property section, I got to also learn a few things about different properties around Malaysia. Data entry may sound boring but I did my best to motivate myself to complete more than the previous; one might say I was a bit competitive. I was also motivated because I was earning money. Money seem to be a big motivation to my productivity at work. Haha! Other than that, I was pleased with the people working around me; they were all extremely friendly and helpful.

luixia-theedge-01.16

All of them working hard 😉

Everything was almost great except for the scarily cold and strong air-conditioning in the room I worked in. It was ridiculously cold to the point that I had to bring either a thick autumn jacket or a down-feather jacket and gloves. That’s how cold it was for me and you might think I was exaggerating but I am not, especially with typical Malaysian weather being roughly 28°c to 35°c, I withstood 19°c and below. I guess you can call that working in extreme weather conditions especially when one is so used to being under warm temperatures. Other than wearing thick jackets and gloves, a few colleagues and I tried to seal the air-con vent. It was fruitful at the start but give it a week and our seals – newspaper and cellophane tape, then cloth tape – wore out. If you followed me on snapchat, you would see pictures and videos of what my colleagues and I went through. I forgot to save pictures of what we did to the vent because I didn’t think of writing about this earlier. Sorry!

It’s kind of sad that my contract ended so soon, I would have renewed it but I tried applying for other internships because I really wanted to learn more things and got offered one – I’m currently interning for Kinky Blue Fairy. I’m still missing them and missed them even more now because on my last day with The Edge, Xindi and Janene prepared lunch. We had Beef Stew, Devil Eggs and rice provided by Xindi and plain couscous provided by Janene. Thank you again for the lovely meal and I still miss you all! I will also miss the weekly Tuesday teabreak and the fun events that were hosted in The Edge.

luixia-theedge-03

The lovely food Janene provided. On the left is the Beef Stew and on the right are the Devil Eggs. So tasty!

P.S: Xindi bakes and takes orders so check her out!

luixia-theedge-04

From left to right: Janene, me, Sook Fun and Xindi

Regardless, to new endeavours and experience!

luixia-theedge-02

Yang Yang peeking underneath my computer. 

Short time at The Edge

Leave a comment