Yanis Marshall Street Jazz & Heels Dance Workshop

So freaking grateful for this opportunity. I never thought a day like this would ever come. It was such an amazing experience, one I don’t think I’ll ever forget. It made me so grateful that I’m studying in Ottawa. Argh. Too thankful. I thought I’d share this memorable experience with you all. I don’t have a lot of pictures because Yanis was really against that because he “looked like shit.” He said that, not me. He’s always fabulously great looking to me. :3

It was a really intense class. His choreos were all meant to be advanced level but it was still amazing. I also like to point out that the room we were in was too small for all of us and there were no mirrors. It was a struggle but it was still so much fun learning there.

Nevertheless I thought I’d share some things I learned from him.

1. Yanis’s expectations are very specific

Yanis Marshall is very specific in his dance style and execution. There are things that he wants to see in the choreo other than you perfecting the choreography. He wants you to really feel the music and dance to it. Show energy but show more emotions. He wants you to feel the mood of the song. He really emphasized that.

2. Yanis uses the word “bitch” a lot.

He’s so downright sassy and just divalicious. It was ridiculous everytime he’s describing something, he’ll mention the word “bitch” endlessly.

3. Point Your Feet

Yanis lives for pointed feet. He mentioned that he wouldn’t want to “f*ck anyone” if they don’t point their feet. It was really funny because he was showing us the huge difference between pointed feet and flexed feet. He even said that even when he’s dead, he wants to be pointing his feet and look fabulous as he proceeds to show us his “I’m dying” pose.

Honestly, it was such an indescribable experience. I’m so bummed we didn’t get to finish the choreos. Ahmaigad. I want to go for another workshop of his. T_T

Thank you so much Ottawa Canada !!!!!! #Ottawa #Canada #YanisWORLDTourBitch

A photo posted by Y A N I S M A R S H A L L (@yanismarshall) on Oct 16, 2016 at 5:26pm PDT

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js

Yanis Marshall Street Jazz & Heels Dance Workshop

Leave a Reply

